By Diane C. Esmade, USTP System STRATCOMM

The virtual stage for the 88th NRCP General Assembly with NRCP President Dr. Greg E.H. Del Pilar and NRCP Executive Director Dr. Marieta Banez-Sumagaysay. (Courtesy: NRCP)

The National Research Council of the Philippines (NRCP), the country’s largest collegial body for basic and fundamental research, welcomes its regular and new associate members from the University of Science and Technology of Southern Philippines (USTP) for 2021. The regular and new associates embodied the qualifications needed in sharing their field of expertise with the development goals of the country. 

Among the recognized members of NRCP who took the oath was USTP’s Vice President for Research and Innovation Dr. Ruel R. Cabahug for Division VII (Engineering and Industrial Research) as a regular member and six associate members, namely: Engr. Jeffrey Ken B. Balangao for Division VII (Engineering and Industrial Research); Mr. Francis Jhun T. Macalam for Divison X (Chemical Sciences); Dr. Charito G. Ong for Division XI (Humanities); Engr. Mary Ann E. Telen for Division VII (Engineering and Industrial Research); Dr. Renante D. Taylaran for Division VI (Agriculture and Forestry); and Dr. Dennis A. Tarepe for Division II (Mathematical Sciences).

The awarding took place during NRCP’s Annual Scientific Conference and 88th General Membership Assembly via Zoom last March 10, 2021, with the theme Pagbangon at Pananaig: National Recovery and Rebuilding.

The NRCP is an advisory body of the Department of Science and Technology (DOST).

Follow us:

Contact us:
+63(88)857-1738 local 169
[email protected]