PBBM confers USTP President with 2023 Presidential Lingkod Bayan Award for exceptional public service

By Kristine Jane M. Laid and Anne Lorraine R. Sitoy, USTP STRATCOMM

In a distinguished ceremony held at the Centennial Hall Malacañan Palace on February 14, 2024, President Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr. conferred the Presidential Lingkod Bayan Award upon USTP President Dr. Ambrosio B. Cultura II, alongside 26 other outstanding individuals and groups recognized in the 2023 Search for Outstanding Government Workers.

Photo credits: Philippine Civil Service Commission

“Today, we recognize our fellow civil servants who have honored their oaths of office with remarkable and honest work that has made a positive impact on the lives of the Filipino people. Standing solidly on our nation’s bedrock belief that public office is a public trust, our 2023 Outstanding Government Workers project the image of an ideal Filipino government worker,” said President Marcos in his message after the awarding rites.

Dr. Cultura is among the eight Presidential Lingkod Bayan awardees honored during the ceremony. Five educators and three teams were awarded the Presidential Lingkod Bayan, granted to those who have made exceptional contributions through innovative ideas or impactful actions of national significance, particularly in the areas of public interest, security, and patrimony.

Recognized for his visionary leadership, Dr. Cultura’s transformative initiatives at the University of Science and Technology of Southern Philippines (USTP) have propelled the institution toward digital transformation, aligning with a strategic vision to position USTP as a premier technological hub akin to the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). Moreover, his advocacy for solar power research and community outreach has provided sustainable solutions to address electricity disruptions, benefiting numerous communities.

Ten (10) government workers also received the Outstanding Public Officials and Employees (Dangal ng Bayan) Award, and nine (9) received the Civil Service Commission (CSC) Pag-asa Award.

The ceremony, graced by President Marcos, also saw the presence of esteemed officials, including Civil Service Commission (CSC) Chairperson Karlo Alexei B. Nograles and CSC Commissioners Aileen Lourdes A. Lizada and Ryan Alvin R. Acosta.

Dr. Cultura’s recognition builds upon his previous achievements, having been lauded as the CSC Presidential Lingkod Bayan Regional Winner in 2021 and receiving further accolades in 2023, both at the regional and national levels. The selection criteria, encompassing dimensions such as performance impact, sustainability, reliability, and consistency, underscore the rigorous evaluation process undertaken by the Civil Service Commission.

The annual Search for Outstanding Government Workers, administered by the Civil Service Commission, is integral to its constitutional mandate and institutional framework, reinforcing a culture of excellence and accountability in public service as mandated by the 1987 Philippine Constitution and implemented pursuant to Executive Order (EO) No. 292 or the Administrative Code of 1987; EO No. 501, series of 1992, as amended by EO No. 77, series of 1993; and Republic Act No. 6713.